Home > five sentence fiction > FSF Harvest by Amanda

FSF Harvest by Amanda

FSF – Harvest

By: Amanda S. Moores

 As she sat in the soft grass staring at the heart-shaped grave stone, she remembered: the sudden realization, her choked scream, the screeching metal, the blood…so much blood, the high-pitched sirens, the frantic doctors. She remembered her tearful, frenzied attempts to reach the small hand hanging over the edge of the stretcher as the nurses pulled her out of the room. She remembered the flat-line…and the slumped, shaking shoulders of doctors fighting back their own tears. She remembered pieces of the conversation that followed: “…so sorry…loss…difficult decision…time…essence…need to harvest…forms…organ donation…” As she sat in the soft grass staring at the heart-shaped grave stone, she remembered: his first steps, his first words, his first tooth, and she desperately hoped that somewhere someone else’s child would survive to experience those same firsts because of him.

  1. June 30, 2012 at 5:26 AM

    I can not even comment sensibly this touches me and brings with it emotions I have been trying to overcome. I sincerely hope this is not a true story of your loss, the way you wrote it I am afraid it may be even though it says ‘fiction’. If you have not experienced the loss of a child you have an understanding and empathy of one that does,

  2. June 30, 2012 at 5:27 AM

    Wow, as an organ recipient this just blew me away. So good. Thanks you.

  3. June 30, 2012 at 6:55 AM

    A moving and emotional piece. You pulled me in very well written.

  4. TheOthers1
    June 30, 2012 at 7:11 AM

    Oh gosh. Talk about ringing the emotion from me. Wonderful storytelling

  5. June 30, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    Heartbreaking. I pray it’s not true. However, what a wonderful, original take on Lillie’s word “Harvest.”

  6. lisashambrook
    June 30, 2012 at 4:37 PM

    A stunning piece of writing, showing true empathy and beauty. Very moving and emotional.

  7. June 30, 2012 at 9:04 PM

    O my. Absolutely gutwrenching – and beautiful. Masterfully rendered.

  8. July 1, 2012 at 12:54 AM

    Wow… I am completely humbled by the praise from each of you. Thank you so much.

    My greatest wish is for no one to ever have to deal with anything like I’ve written. But because that’s out of my control, my husband and I have recently decided to become organ donors (and blood donors, for the same reason). That was much of my inspiration.

    This is not a true story from my life, thankfully. But it is for someone, somewhere. And having a 7-year-old son, it was difficult to reach into that part of myself that fears for his safety always. That is where I pulled my emotion from…and it was draining.

    Thank you again for your kind words!

  9. July 1, 2012 at 5:00 AM

    Aww… That’s so sad. I love the story though. Beautifully written!

  10. Delilah
    July 2, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    Yea Amanda! I already sent you my comment earlier.

  11. July 2, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    Wow. Just wow. Nice way of using the word prompt. I can feel the heartache of the mother. While reading this, it felt like it was more than five sentences. Great writing. Great story.

  12. July 5, 2012 at 2:12 AM

    Yes, Amanda–a brave and masterful five sentences!

  13. July 5, 2012 at 11:31 AM

    Excellent heart-wrenching piece, Lillie. Beautiful use for the word ‘harvest’. =)

    I’m sorry I’ve missed FSF lately. I plan to not do so anymore, at least not as much.

    / Rain

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?