Home > Uncategorized > March: MS Awareness Month

March: MS Awareness Month

Did you know that March is Multiple Sclerosis awareness month?

On July 08, 2008 I was diagnosed with MS but had no idea what that meant. It is a hugely misunderstood disease, but a really awesome lady,  McCall Teicher, is working hard to change that. Her efforts to raise MS awareness have really inspired me to speak up. Since 2009 I have participated in the MS Walk with my team, the Cure Crusaders. We have raised over $6000 so far and, with the help of incredibly supportive friends and family, we are still going! But, as a whole, I don’t talk about my MS with many people.

 I’ve decided that’s not the way to help.

I have a responsibility to talk about it so that it’s not such a mystery. For me MS is many different things, depending on the day. Mostly I am more fatigued than I’ve ever been in my life every day now. It’s a total body tired that makes brushing my teeth a real chore some days. When I was diagnosed I was blind in my left eye, and thankfully that sight has returned. I have Relapsing Remitting MS, which means I have some symptoms all the time, but during a relapse I develop new or worsening symptoms.

Writing is my outlet and some days the MS brain fog won’t let me write. Other days I feel better, and with the help of my amazing twitter buddies, get some serious words down! Each week in March I will post something new about MS and what it means to carry it around every day.

A few MS Facts:
-Approximately 2.5 million people worldwide have MS, 400,000 in the US.
-No two people have the same exact MS experience.

-There is currently no cure for MS.

The body’s own defense system attacks myelin, the fatty substance that surrounds and protects the nerve fibers in the central nervous system.
-More than twice as many women as men have MS.
Source

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

