Home > awesome bloggers, nanowrimo, twitter, writer's block > Only Writing in my Head!

Only Writing in my Head!

December 6, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments
Ever get to that place in the novel writing adventure where it’s all you think about, but writing is still difficult? I’m so there.

Photobucket
My dog gets my frustration!
I am still working on my NaNo novel. It is a story I love, full of characters I want to be friends with, but I still have a hard time getting the words out. Sometimes, I want to start back at the beginning and edit, edit, edit. Other times, I think I should continue writing and edit later.

The story is always on my mind. I don’t have the slightest problem thinking of things that I want to happen, things I want to tweak, or characters that need a little something extra. The story plays alive and well across my mind; everything is magic and harmonious in my head, but as soon as I sit down to get all of it down the creative factory closes, an iron door falls shutting in everything I wanted to say. It’s the strangest case of writer’s block I’ve ever encountered.

Sometimes I think the pressure I feel to write perfectly, self-inflicted pressure of course, harms my writing more than anything else. I want the words to flow as beautifully on paper as they do in my mind. So, when I sit down to write I fear I won’t live up to my own expectations. It’s a constant battle between me, myself, and I.

How do you get past this?

On a happier note, an amazing writer has started a blog! Check out Steven’s blog. He basically kicked NaNoWriMo rear, and is still going strong. Also, if you’re up for #wordmongering on Twitter, he is around for motivation. Just try and keep up with his 30 minute words counts. I dare you! Find him on Twitter: @ashviper
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

