Home > amazing writers, nanowrimo, twitter > NaNoWriMo: Halfway There!

NaNoWriMo: Halfway There!

November 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s thirteen days into my first NaNoWriMo attempt, and I’m feeling pretty good. Two hours ago I reached twenty-five thousand words. Half way there! The best part – I adore my characters.
This is a new style of writing for me. It’s been a great thing, because I often get stuck in an edit-as-I-go routine, which slows me down considerably. The need to reach a particular word count in a limited time frame has forced me to dig in, put my head down, and keep typing.
It’s also my first time writing a novel with the assistance of a detailed outline. Wow! I’m hooked. It was like nails on a chalkboard to get the outline done, but it was worth every second. I haven’t followed it exactly. I’ve left things out, added things, moved things around, but that’s the way it goes. I am a definite reformed ‘pantser.’
Another huge contributor to my word count are my amazing Twitter buddies. Writers are a supportive, motivational group. They truly want each other to succeed and write their very best.

So, go visit some of these amazing writers!

Where are you in your NaNoWriMo progress? What has helped you so far?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

