Home > write on wednesday > Write on Wednesday – I thought I saw

Write on Wednesday – I thought I saw

October 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 20 Write the words ” I thought I saw” at the top of your page. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after the prompt. Don’t take you pen off the page (or fingers off the keyboard). Stop only when the buzzer rings! Do this exercise over and over if you wish. Write beyond 5 minutes if you like, you can link it up as an extra post.

Always looking for any reason to hope, I cradle his words close so that I can replay them over and over again. He thinks I am wonderful, brilliant, and a great friend. If it weren’t for the friend part, this would be as good as a marriage proposal to me. I am on alert for a sparkle in his eye, telling tug of his mouth, anything to validate my heart’s reaction to him. We’ve been friends for seven years now. I have detailed memories of every second spent together. Dinners with his family, meeting his boss, helping him move last year when he got the job. Not a day goes by without his phone call. We talk about his day, my day, when we’ll see each other next. I can’t stop the school girl grinning anytime I think of him.
He’s not mine though, except in my heart. We’re just friends. Although, that’s temporary. It’s not the right time. He’s got a lot going on with the new job now, so maybe when he gets settled he’ll be ready to get serious. That’s what I tell myself. He loved the tie I bought him to wear on his first day. Said it was his good luck charm.
Friends say I’m pathetic, deserve more, should move on. My head knows they’re right, but my heart won’t listen.
Besides, yesterday I thought I saw something…

Be sure to check out the other WoW posts:!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

