Home > write on wednesday > Write on Wednesday – Sunshine in a Cup

Write on Wednesday – Sunshine in a Cup

October 18, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 19 – Sunshine in a cup. Write the words of Emily Dickinson: “Bring me sunshine in a cup” at the top of your page. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after the prompt. Don’t take you pen off the page (or fingers off the keyboard). Stop only when the buzzer rings! Do this exercise over and over if you wish. Write beyond 5 minutes if you like, you can link it up as an extra post.

Drowning in the pool of bitter memories swallowing up my soul, I frantically tread. Flailing my sweeter memories about, willing them to sprout feathers to haul me from this vortex of agony, I search for a brighter place. But, these slick talons relentlessly grasp at me from every angle, pulling me towards the darkest of the dark. To a place light has never touched. A place without a glimmer or a shine, a rise or a set, a smile or a delight. As my toe unwillingly inches over the precipice, leaving drag lines in the water, a face flashes across my crippled mind. A face full of optimism, blue eyes big as saucers, and a pale pink bow of a mouth. She tosses me a rope, determined that I will use it to pull myself from the void. I strain to hear her words, as I see her mouth moving, but the wild whooshing whip of emotions drowns out all other sound. Widening my eyes, I read those sweet lips saying ‘I’ve got you Mama,’ and know I can tread forever or choose to pull myself from here and refill my soul with the sunshine of her heart.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

