Home > write on wednesday > Write on Wednesday: Songbird

Write on Wednesday: Songbird

September 27, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is my first time doing Write on Wednesdays. I’m excited to get started!

“The Write On Wednesday Rules: Get creative with the writing exercises – there isn’t a right or wrong. Please do try to visit the other members of Write On Wednesdays and leave a comment.

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 16:
Hadge says: Take a favorite (or even random play) song and write the story behind the lyrics, not something inspired by the lyric, but the flesh on the bones of the story. It gives lots of scope for interpretative writing. Use the lyrics or theme of a song for a piece of flash fiction (50 to 200 words). To clarify, write your version of the story behind the lyrics in a song”

Be sure to check out the other writers: http://inkpaperpen.blogspot.com/2011/09/songbirdits-write-on-wednesday.html

I chose to write about my favorite song of the moment: Grace Potter’s “Medicine.” Listen here:







He stopped talking when she walked in the door. He sat up straighter, forgot I was sitting across from him, and sat down his beer. As she sashayed through the crowd, men everywhere seemed to zero in on the silky hair, shapely hips and crimson lips. They stared, drooled, panted. She was a walking illusion. Sex in heels.

I knew the moment it happened. Her eyes met my husband’s as she glided her way past the other hungry men, focused only on him. Whispering silky words she took his hand, seducing him to the dance floor. Without a backward glance in my direction, he went willingly after his new drug of choice.

She may be what he thinks he wants, but I am not a woman to sit back watching what I love taken from me. Head held high, I sauntered over to where they danced. She saw me coming, eyes locking with mine in challenge. But, I had the one thing she didn’t: His heart. Reaching them I focused on my husband, took his chin, forcing my stupid man to look me in the eye. All it took was one look to remind him that she was fleeting, but I was forever.

I took back what was mine, threw her out of the bar, and put on those heels myself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

